Feed a cold…

December 11, 2009

Spent today at home with a nasty cough. And it’s at times like this that I realise just how much I love my food. Where most people would be happy to curl up in bed with a bowl of Heinz tomato soup, no matter how ill I am, I always seem to find the energy to cook up whatever I’m craving. And today I was craving a fish curry. Don’t ask me why. Although I do know, whenever I feel rough – self-induced or otherwise – chillis are what I most want to eat.

So, I had a mackerel in the freezer, from last Saturday’s shop at Borough Market, a tin of tomatoes in the cupboard, plus another of my never-without ingredients, fresh chillis – and that was all I needed for my perfect supper. Hopefully the vast quantities of ginger and garlic I also added will do me some good, too. By the way, the greenery in the curry is leaves from the golden beetroot that I cooked earlier in the week. See, I really do use everything!

2 Responses to “Feed a cold…”

  1. jasnieres Says:

    So easy – must try it – apart from mackerel which I don’t like.
    Do you remember if you ate the mackerel you caught when we went out fishing with Norman MacAskill?
    Chillis are the easiest things to grow – in a pot – indoors – just pick one fresh when you want it.

  2. Dummy Jim Says:

    Dear Bare Cupboard

    The Mediterranean has the color of mackerel, changeable I mean. You don’t always know if it is green or violet, you can’t even say it’s blue, because the next moment the changing reflection has taken on a tint of rose or gray.

    Yours aye

    Jim


Leave a Reply

